A Cowgirl to Mrs. Wrangler- II

This is Wrangler and my story about how we met. I wrote it down so that one day if something happened to us or if my kids were just wondering they have it.

Monday night after texting back and forth all day when both of us had free minutes Wrangler asked me when I had time free in the evening. I told him Thursday. We made plans to meet after he got off work. The week seemed to drag by. All I knew is I enjoyed talking on the phone with him in the evenings. We talked about our crazy stalker ex’s, our past horses, school experiences, and lots more.
Finally Thursday was here. It was a longer day than every day so far that week. It was finally time to hit the road to Wrangler’s town. I arrived about the same time Wrangler got off the road. I met Wrangler at his house. I sat in his semi while he worked on his logs. He received a phone call from his boss giving him bad news. He had to go deal with the book keeper.
We drove the eight miles out in the country to the book keepers house. We sat there for like a hour before she showed up. Than I sat in a dark living room for nearly two hours while Wrangler and the book keeper did the paperwork. There is a lot of paperwork in trucking. A trucker has to do his logs everyday. They also have to keep track of how many miles they drive in each state each day. Than there is the load paperwork they have to keep track of.
We finally arrive back in Wrangler’s town. We went downtown to the local bar and grill. It is like most small town restaurants. It is a family place with a pool table and juke box. Yes there is alcohol served there but more people eat food than drink. While we were waiting on our food we played pool. At one point in time I was really good at pool but it had been around eight years since I really had played. Wrangler when he was bored would go play pool so he was a lot better than me.
I am a very competive person. I like to win. Well I learned something about Wrangler that night to. He is just as competive as I am. He also likes to rub it in when he wins. Even though I lost every game I played I still had fun. After we got tired of playing pool we went to the edge of town to watch a thunderstorm come in.
We sat in Wrangler’s truck and watched the lighting streak across the Kansas sky. We both mentioned how we like to watch it lighting on a hot summer night. It was getting late and time for me to head to my home. We went back to Wrangler’s house so I could pick up my car. It started to sprinkle about that time so we go onto Wrangler’s back porch.
We sat there a few more minutes watching it lighting. And than I was saying goodnight even though I did not want to leave for home. Wrangler and I moved in to hug and instead of hugging we had our first kiss. I am going to keep the details of our kiss private. I really did not want to go at this point. I some how got up the nerve to walk out to my car and drive away.
The next day after I got off work I headed to my hometown where my mom and brother still lives. All weekend I was trying to hide the fact from them that something was up. I felt like my world had changed in less than a week. I did not want to talk to Wrangler on the phone when Mom and Brother were around. I felt like if I did all the emotion in my face would give my secret away. I wanted it to stay a secret for a while.
Mom did know I had been dating some but no details about any certain guy. I was afraid to get her hopes up. See I am the oldest and at this point I was already 23. She married my dad at age 22 after they dated for 3 years. I wanted a happy relationship like my parents had but I was in no hurry to make a Mr. Right Now into Mr. Right. I was looking for Mr. Right for this Cowgirl and found him in Wrangler. My parents had been married 24 years when My Dad died.
I think I did really well hiding my secret that weekend but I knew it could not stay a secret for long. When I am happy it shows really easy. It shows in the way I carry my body. I smile often and laugh and make jokes. I have a relaxed attitude when I am happy. I was so glad when I left Mom’s for the weekend because I could be happy and not give away my secret.

Hope you enjoyed this chapter of story. Look for another chapter to come soon.

AS Mrs. Wrangler

Leave a comment